Research Seminars 2007-2008

meakins logo: 2007-2008 meakins seminar series on respiratory researchWeekly Research Seminar Series
Archive

Date             Speaker Title
Seminar
Mon, Sept 17, 2007
John Hanrahan   
Dept Physiol, McGill
CFTR plays tag
Seminar
Mon, Sept 24, 2007
Terry  Hébert  
Dept. Pharmacology, 
McGill
Molecular chaperones and signaling specificity in G
protein-coupled receptors
Seminar
Mon, Oct 1, 2007
Marcel Behr   
Dept. Medicine, McGill
Post-genomic studies of the tubercle bacillus
No Seminar
Mon, Oct 8, 2007
 Thanksgiving  
Seminar
Mon, Oct 15, 2007
Anne-Marie Lauzon 
Meakins-Christie Laboratories
To be announced
Seminar
Mon, Oct 22, 2007
Martin G. Sirois  
Montreal Heart Institute
Angiopoietins: A new class of angiogenic proinflammatory
mediators
Seminar
Mon, Oct 29, 2007
Stephane A.  Laporte   
Hormones & Cancer Res Unit, RVH
Role of kinases in G protein coupled receptor internalization
and trafficking
Seminar
Mon, Nov 5, 2007
Darryl A. Knight  
Dept. Pharmacology, UBC
The epithelium in asthma:  Central player in disease
pathogenesis or collateral damage?
Seminar
Mon, Nov 12, 2007
Dean Sheppard 
Dept. Medicine, UCSF
Roles of integrin-mediated TGFb activation in acute lung
injury, 
pulmonary fibrosis and regulation of adaptive immunity
Seminar
Mon, Nov 19, 2007
Philippe P. Roux 
Institute for Research in
Immunology & Cancer
U Montréal
The p90 ribosomal S6 kinase (RSK): Connecting Ras to transcription
and translation
Seminar
Mon, Nov 26, 2007
John Orlowski  
Chair, Dept. Physiology, McGill
Alkali Cation/Proton Exchangers, Interacting Partners and
Relevance to Cellular Homeostasis
Seminar
Mon, Dec 3, 2007
Jean-Jacques Lebrun  
Hormones & Cancer Res Unit, RVH
Tumor suppression and prevention of cell immortalization
by TGFb and activin
Seminar
Mon, Dec 10, 2007
Lisa Cameron   
Dept. Medicine, U. Alberta
Molecular regulation of CRTH2 and its role in the
development of allergy
Seminar
Mon, Dec 17, 2007
Fariba Salehi    
Meakins-Christie Labs
Immunological responses in a murine model following inhalation
exposure to 
Beryllium Metal and Beryllium Oxide particles
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!
Seminar
Mon, Jan 14, 2008
Elaine C. Davis   
Dept Anat & Cell Biol, McGill
Elastin: More than just rubber for elastic recoil of tissues
Seminar
Mon, Jan 21, 2008
John Hiscott   
Director, Molecular Oncology
Lady Davis Institute
To be announced
Seminar
Mon, Jan 28, 2008
T. Douglas Bradley 
Director, Centre for Sleep Medicine &
Circadian Biology, U of Toronto
Rostral fluid displacement, a new paradigm in the
pathogenesis of obstructive sleep apnea
No Seminar
Mon, Feb 4, 2008
Meakins Asthma Workshop  
Seminar
Mon, Feb 11, 2008
Venkatesan Narayanan
Meakins-Christie Laboratories
Cartilage repair in osteoarthritis
Seminar
Mon, Feb 18, 2008
John Kimoff 
Meakins-Christie Labs
Cheyne Stokes Respiration during Sleep in Heart Failure:
Epiphenomenon or Mechanism 
of Disease Progression?
Seminar

Mon, Feb 25, 2008

Thomas J. Kelley 
Depts of Pediatrics & Pharmacology
Case Western Reserve University
Cellular responses to lost CFTR function
Seminar
Mon, Mar 3, 2008
Sam J. Daniel 
Department of Otolaryngology
Montreal Children’s Hospital
Ototoxicity: free radicals vs  the immune system
Seminar
Mon, Mar 10, 2008
Gregory Funk 
Dept. Physiol, U Alberta
Purinergic signaling and respiratory control: deciphering
the differential 
modulation of rhythm generating and
pattern forming networks by ATP
No Seminar
Mon, Mar 17, 2008
AAAAI Meeting
Philadelphia (Mar 14-18)
Seminar
Mon, Mar 31, 2008
Marek Rola-Pleszczynski 
Dept Pediatrics
Université de Sherbrooke
Novel targets and actions of cysteinyl-leukotrienes
with relevance to atopy and asthma
Seminar
Mon, Apr 7, 2008
Mari Kaartinen 
Faculty of dentistry, McGill
Transglutaminases and matrix formation in mineralized tissues
Seminar
Mon, Apr 14, 2008
Bernard Thébaud  
Dept. of Pediatrics
University of Alberta
Rebuilding the lung: Stem cell-based therapies for life-
threatening and debilitating lung diseases
Seminar
Mon, Apr 21, 2008
Sergio Grinstein  
Hosp for Sick Children, U of T
Signaling phagocytosis: role of lipid metabolism and
surface charge
Seminar
Mon, Apr 28, 2008
Viswanathan Natarajan 
Dept Medicine, U Chicago
Role of Lysophosphatidic Acid and its G-protein Coupled
Receptors in AirwayInflammation and Remodeling
Seminar
Mon, May 5, 2008
Wei-Yang Lu 
Sunnybrooke Res Inst, U of T
GABA: cools the brain, but inflames the lung
Seminar
Mon, May 12, 2008
Dale Umetsu 
Dept of Pediatrics
Harvard Medical School
Sensing the environment in Asthma
No Seminar
Mon, May 19, 2008
ATS Meeting
Toronto  (May 16-21)
 
Seminar
Mon, May 26, 2008
No Seminar  
Seminar
Mon, June 2, 2008
No Seminar Special seminar at 11:30 by Nicholas Lukacs
Seminar
Mon, June 9, 2008
Mark Larché  
Dept. Medicine, McMaster
In vivo models of T cell activation and tolerance in asthma