Research Seminars 2010-2011

meakins logo: 2010-2011 meakins respiratory research seminar seriesWeekly Research Seminar Series
Archive

Date Speaker Title
Seminar
Mon, Sept 20, 2010
Nathalie Grandvaux PubMed
Asst Prof, Dept Biochem, U de M
CHUM Res Centre
NADPH oxidase-dependent molecular mechanisms of antiviral
and proinflammatory 
responses during infections by respiratory viruses
Seminar
Mon, Sept 27, 2010
Basil Petrof PubMed
Prof, Dept Medicine, McGill
Meakins-Christie Labs
Is host immunity a factor in muscular dystrophy
pathogenesis ?
Seminar
Mon, Oct 4, 2010
Michel Desjardins PubMed
Dept Pathol/Cell Biol
University of Montreal
The role of autophagy in antigen presentation
No Seminar
Mon, Oct 11, 2010
Thanksgiving  
Seminar
Mon, Oct 18, 2010
B cell workshop  
Seminar
Mon, Oct 25, 2010
Bob J Scholte pubmed
Dept Cell Biology
Erasmus Medical Cntr, Rotterdam
Mouse models of Cystic Fibrosis, finding and testing new
therapeutic targets
Seminar
Mon, Nov 1, 2010
Jamila Chakir pubmed
Professor, Dept Medicine

Laval University
Structural cell response to corticosteroid in asthma
Seminar
Mon, Nov 8, 4:00
Augustine M. Choi PubMed
Chief, Div Pulm & Crit Care Med
Parker B. Francis Prof Medicine
Harvard Medical School
Autophagy in lung disease: regulation and function
Seminar
Mon, Nov 15, 2010
Postponed  
Seminar
Mon, Nov 22, 2010
Randy R. Brutkiewiczpubmed
Professor, Dept Microbiol Immunol

Indiana University
Regulation of Lipid Antigen Presentation by Cell Signaling
Pathways
Seminar
Mon, Nov 29, 2010
Raed Dweik PubMed
Pulm, Allergy & Crit Care Med
Cleveland Clinic
Recent Advances and current challenges in the clinical
application of exhaled breath analysis
Seminar
Mon, Dec 6, 2010
Marco Sandri PubMed
Dept Biomedical Sci
University of Padova
Autophagy-Lysosome system and the control of muscle mass
Seminar
Mon, Dec 13, 2010
Charles A Powell pubmed
Div Pulm, Allergy & Crit Care Med
Columbia U Medical Center
Modeling Lung Adenocarcinoma Invasiveness
Seminar
Mon, Dec 20, 2010
Nada Jabado spira
Assoc Prof, Dept Pediatrics
McGill University
Stuck in traffic or Lost in translation? Molecular insight
into pediatric astrocytomas
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!
Seminar
Mon, Jan 10, 2011
Grace Parraga pubmed
Assoc Prof, Medical Biophysics

Imaging Res Labs, Robarts Res Inst
University of Western Ontario
Hyperpolarized noble gas Magnetic Resonance Imaging: A
new tool for regional 
in vivo structural and functional
measurements of obstructive Lung Disease
Seminar
Mon, Jan 17, 2011
Geoffrey Maksym pubmed
Assoc Prof, Biomed Eng

Dalhousie University
Airway smooth muscle and it’s activity in asthma
Seminar
Mon, Jan 24, 2011
Barry Posner pubmed
Professor, Dept Medicine
Director, Polypeptide Laboratory
McGill University
The mechanism of Epidermal Growth Factor Action:
Key Role of mTOR Activation
No Seminar
Mon, Jan 31, 2011
Meakins Workshop  
Seminar
Mon, Feb 7, 2011
No Seminar  
Seminar
Mon, Feb 14, 2011
Veronika von Messling pubmed
Associate Professor
INRS-Institut Armand-Frappier
Université du Québec
Host Response Contribution to Influenza Virus Pathogenesis
Seminar
Mon, Feb 21, 2011
Janusz Rak pubmed
Jack Cole Chair Ped Hematol/Oncol

Montreal Children’s Hospital
Oncosomes – the weird science of cell debris in cancer
Seminar
Mon, Feb 28, 2011
Russell T Hepple
Assoc Prof, Dept Kinesiology

McGill University
Does Mitochondrial Dysfunction Contribute to Muscle
Atrophy with Aging?
Seminar
Mon, Mar 7, 2011
Dao Nguyen PubMed
Asst Prof, Dept Med, McGill
Montreal General Hospital
The role of starvation responses in Pseudomonas aeruginosa
antibiotic tolerance
Seminar
Mon, Mar 14, 2011
No Seminar  
Seminar
Mon, Mar 21, 2011
Michael O’Reilly  pubmed
Prof, Dept Pediatrics

U Rochester
Defining how neonatal hyperoxia is a developmental
antecedent of cardiopulmonary disease
Seminar
Mon, Mar 28, 2011
Parameswaran Nair pubmed
Assoc Prof, Dept Med, McMaster U
Firestone Inst Resp Health
Evaluation of a biomarker of eosinophil activity in the airway
Seminar
Mon, Apr 4, 2011
James G. Martin pubmed
Professor, Dept Medicine, McGill
Meakins-Christie Laboratories
Airway remodeling: from the sublime to the ridiculous
Seminar
Mon, Apr 11, 2011
Boaz Tirosh pubmed
Inst Drug Research
School of Pharmacy
Hebrew Univ Jerusalem
Making a plasma cell: an interplay between the unfolding
protein response and the 
mTOR signaling pathways
Seminar
Mon, Apr 18, 2011
Chantal Autexier spira
Prof, Anat Cell Biol, McGill

Bloomfield Cntr Res Aging
Lady Davis Institute
Targeting Telomerase and Telomeres: Valid
Anti-cancer Strategies?
No Seminar
Mon, Apr 25, 2011
Easter  
Seminar
Mon, May 2, 2011
Abdelilah Soussi Gounni pubmed
Assoc Prof, Immunol, U Manitoba
Manitoba Inst Child Health
TSLPR function  in airway smooth muscle cells:
role on airway remodeling
Seminar
Mon, May 9, 2011
Jill Johnson pubmed
Postdoctoral Fellow
Meakins-Christie Laboratories
The PDGFs in chronic allergic lung disease
No Seminar
Mon, May 16, 2011
ATS Meeting  
No Seminar
Mon, May 23, 2011
National Patriot’s Day  
Seminar
Mon, May 30, 2011
Marc Therrien pubmed
Assoc Prof, Dept Path & Cell Biol
Inst Res Immunol & Cancer
University of Montreal
Of dimers and scaffolds: Dissection of the
Ras/MAPK signalling pathway
Seminar
Mon, June 6, 2011
Erwin Schurr spira
Centre for Host Resistance
McGill University
Host genetics and susceptibility to tuberculosis
Seminar
Mon, June 13, 2011
Filip Swirski pubmed
Asst Prof, Harvard

Center for Systems Biology
Massachusetts General Hospital
The origin of myeloid cells in atherosclerosis
Seminar
Mon, June 20, 2011
Nicola A Hanania PubMed
Director, Asthma Clinical Res Cntr
Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, TX
ß2-Agonists in Asthma: From Full to Inverse Agonism