Research Seminars 2013-2014

meakins logo: pulmonary research seminar series 2013-2014Weekly Research Seminar Series
Archive

Date Speaker Title
Seminar
Mon, Sept 9, 2013
Joaquín Madrenas pubmed
Chair, Dept Microbiol & Immunol
McGill University
Taming a Superbug: System Immunobiology of S. aureus Commensalism
No Seminar
Mon, Sept 16, 2013
Meakins Meet & Greet  
Seminar
Mon, Sept 23, 2013
Alexandra Paun
Meakins-Christie Labs
Identifying genetic variants for radiation-induced lung disease
Seminar
Mon, Sept 30, 2013
Stephen Girardin pubmed
Associate Professor
University of Toronto
Bacterial autophagy: host induction and bacterial subversion
Seminar
Mon, Oct 7, 2013
Gary Brouhard pubmed
Assitant Professor, Dept Biology
McGill University
Microtubules in Brain Development & Disease
No Seminar
Mon, Oct 14, 2013
Thanksgiving  
No Seminar
Mon, Oct 21, 2013
Severe Asthma & COPD Symposium
Seminar
Mon, Oct 28, 2013
Marc Peters-Golden pubmed
Professor, University of Michigan
Transcellular Delivery of SOCS Proteins: A New Paradigm for Immunoregulation
Seminar
Mon, Nov 4, 2013
Benoit Boivin pubmed
Research Assistant Professor
Montreal Heart Institute
Regulation of gene silencing by PTP1B in cancer
Seminar
Mon, Nov 11, 2013
Martin Olivier pubmed
Professor, McGill International TB centre,
McGill University Health Centre Research Institue
From Hemozoin to Cerebral Malaria: Adventure Into Innate Immunity
Seminar
Mon, Nov 18, 2013
Roger Lévesque pubmed
Professor
Université Laval
Biology and Genomics of Pseudomonas aeruginosa in Cystic Fibrosis Infections
Seminar
Mon, Nov 25, 2013
Larry Lands pubmed
Pediatric Cystic Fibrosis Clinic Director
Montreal Children’s Hospital
Chronic Lung Disease and the Common Cold: Uncommonly Problematic
Seminar
Mon, Dec 2, 2013
Bernard Thebaud pubmed
Professor of Pediatrics
University of Ottawa
Mesenchymal Stromal Cells and Lung Diseases: Culprit or Savior?
Seminar
Mon, Dec 9, 2013
No Seminar  
Seminar
Mon, Dec 16, 2013
No Seminar  
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!
Seminar
Mon, Jan 6, 2014
No Seminar  
Seminar
Mon, Jan 13, 2014
No Seminar  
Seminar
Mon, Jan 20, 2014
André Veillette pubmed
Professor, Institut de Recherche Clinique
de Montréal (IRCM)
Immune regulation by SLAM and SAP pathways
Seminar
Mon, Jan 27, 2014
Gerhard Multhaup pubmed
Professor and Chair
Department of Pharmacology & Therapeutics
McGill University
Understanding amyloid and its role in Alzheimer disease
Seminar
Mon, Feb 3, 2014
Francis Boudreault pubmed
CHUM-Université de Montréal
Stretch-induced lung regeneration: a developmental time travel story
Seminar
Mon, Feb 10, 2014
No Seminar  
Seminar
Mon, Feb 17, 2014
Connie Krawczyk pubmed
Assistant Professor
McGill University
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
Beyond PRRs and Cytokines: Novel Mechanisms Regulating DC Function
Seminar
Mon, Feb 24, 2014
Clint Robbins pubmed
Assistant Professor, University of Toronto
Inflammation in atherosclerosis: beyond bone marrow
Seminar
Mon, Mar 3, 2014
Cheolho Cheong pubmed
Assistant Professor, Institut de Recherche
Clinique de Montréal (IRCM)
How we study dendritic cells in the inflammatory diseases?
Seminar
Mon, Mar 10, 2014
No Seminar  
No Seminar
Mon, Mar 17, 2014
No seminar due to Meakins Workshop
Seminar
Mon, Mar 24, 2014
Bruce Mazer pubmed
Professor, McGill University
Semaphorin 4C: an intrinsic regulatorof B-cell mediated inflammation and tolerance
in allergic airways responses
Special Seminar
Mon, Mar 31, 2014
Laila Al-Alwan
Meakins-Christie Labs
Consequences of the interaction between IL17 cytokines and airway
smooth muscle cells in the pathogenesis of airway remodeling in asthma
Seminar
Mon, Apr 7, 2014
No Seminar  
Seminar
Mon, Apr 14, 2014
Éric Boilard pubmed
Assistant Professor
Université Laval
Platelet microparticles as versatile players of inflammation
No Seminar
Mon, Apr 21, 2014
Easter Monday  
Seminar
Mon, Apr 28, 2014
Christine Cremo pubmed
Professor, University of Nevada
Mechano-chemical interactions of smooth muscle myosin with actin
Seminar
Mon, May 5, 2014
David Tobin pubmed
Assistant Professor, Duke University
Eicosanoid balance and host-directed therapies for mycobacterial infections
Seminar
Mon, May 12, 2014
Eric Déziel pubmed
Associate professor
INRS-Institut Armand-Frappier
Burkholderia : Foe? Friend? Both?
No Seminar
Mon, May 19, 2014
ATS Meeting  
Seminar
Mon, May 26, 2014
Anca Dorhoi pubmed
Max Planck Institute for Infection Biology, Berlin
Regulators of inflammation in tuberculosis
Seminar
Mon, June 2, 2014
No Seminar  
Seminar
Mon, June 9, 2014
Martin R. Stämpfli pubmed
Professor
Pathology and Molecular Medicine
McMaster University
Cigarette smoke and bacteria: A tale of an unhealthy relationship
Special Seminar
Wed, June 18, 2014
Lennart Hilbert
Supervisor: Dr. Lauzon
Three different ways to disrupt the coordinated stepping of mechanically
coupled muscle myosin