Research Seminars 2017-2018

meakins logo: pulmonary research seminar seriesWeekly Research Seminar Series
Time: Mondays, 9:00 am – 10:00 am
Room: ES1.1129 RI-MUHC Auditorium unless otherwise advertised
 

Date Speaker Title
Special Seminar
Wed Aug 16, 2017
Donna Savigni pubmed
School of Human Sciences, University of Western Australia
Airway Smooth Muscle in Development and Dysfunction
No Seminar
Monday Sept 4, 2017
Labor Day 
Seminar
Monday Sept 11, 2017
Dongsheng Duan pubmed
Margaret Proctor Mulligan Professor in
Medical Research, University of Missouri
AAV therapy for Duchenne muscular dystrophy by gene replacement and gene editing
Seminar
Monday Sept 18, 2017
Miguel Soares  pubmed
Principal Investigator, Instituto Gulbenkian de Ciência, Portugal
Metabolic adaptation and disease tolerance to infection
Seminar
Monday Sept 25, 2017
Slava Epelman pubmed
Assistant Professor of Medicine, University of Toronto
Origin and function of cardiac Dendridic Cells during viral myocarditis
Seminar
Monday Oct 2, 2017
Stephen Girardin pubmed
Associate Professor, Laboratory Medicine & Pathobiology, University of Toronto
A cytosolic unfolded protein response controls innate immune signaling
No Seminar
Monday Oct 9, 2017
Thanksgiving  
Special Seminar
Tuesday Oct 10, 2017
Kian Fan Chung pubmed link for PROFESSOR KIAN FAN CHUNG
Professor of Medicine, National Heart & Lung Institute Imperial College London
What have we learned from the UBIOPRED?
In collaboration with AstraZeneca

Seminar in EM1.3509 from 1-2pm
Seminar
Monday Oct 16, 2017
Christopher Rudd pubmed link for Christopher Rudd
Professor of Medicine, Department of Medicine and Microbiology,
Infection and Immunology, University of Montreal
Novel adaptive T-cell signaling pathways in inflammation and cancer
Seminar
Monday Oct 23, 2017
Gregory Downey pubmed link for gregory downey publications
Professor, Department of Medicine, Division of Pulmonary,
Critical Care and Sleep Medicine, National Jewish Health
Tyrosine Phosphatase Control of Pulmonary Fibrosis: pY and pY not? 
Workshop
Monday Oct 30, 2017
19th Annual Meakins-Christie International Workshop:
Systems biology approaches to pulmonary host-pathogen interactions
Seymour Heisler Memorial Lecture: Dr. David Guttman –
Pathogen evolution within the cystic fibrosis lung
Seminar
Monday Nov 6, 2017
Samuel David  pubmed
Professor, Dept of Neurology &
Neuroscience, Dept Medicine, McGill University
Iron homeostasis in the nervous system in health and disease
Seminar
Monday Nov 13, 2017
Eric Thorin pubmed link for Eric Thorin
Professor, Dept of Surgery, 
University of Montreal
Pulse pressure and cerebrovascular aging
Room D 03.6020
Seminar
Monday Nov 20, 2017
Jeff Xia pubmed link for Eric Thorin
Assistant Professor, McGill University
Computational platforms for understanding metabolites, microRNAs and microbiome
Special Seminar
Monday Nov 27, 2017
Alice Panariti pubmed link for Eric Thorin
Postdoctoral Fellow with Dr. James Martin
Final PDF Seminar
Airway Remodeling in Severe Asthma
Seminar
Monday Dec 4, 2017
David Brooks pubmed
Associate Professor, University Health Network,
University of Toronto
Inflammation and immunosuppression in chronic virus infection and co-infection
Seminar
Monday Dec 11, 2017
Mihai Netea   pubmed
Dept of Internal Medicine, Radbound University
Medical Center, Netherlands
Trained immunity: a memory for innate host defense
Special Seminar
Monday Dec 18, 2017
Maurizio Chioccioli pubmed
Bio & Soft Systems, University of Cambridge
Ciliary motion and collective hydrodynamic synchronisation: from physical properties to medical applications
Happy Holidays and Happy New Year!   
Seminar
Monday Jan 22, 2018
Gerald Supinski   pubmed
Professor, University of Kentucky
POSTPONED
Seminar
Monday Jan 29, 2018
Jeremy Hirota  pubmed link for Jeremy Hirota
Assistant Professor, Dept of Medicine
McMaster University
A journey into the unknown – Learning my ABCs of mucosal immunology
Seminar
Monday Feb 5, 2018
Harry Karmouty-Quintana  pubmed link for Harry Karmouty-Quintana
Assistant Professor, The University of Texas
Hyaluronic acid in pulmonary hypertenstion 
POSTPONED UNTIL MAY
No Seminar
Monday Feb 12, 2018
No Seminar – MUHC Holiday 
No Seminar
Monday Feb 19, 2018
No Seminar – Happy CIHR Writing!  
No Seminar
Monday Feb 26, 2018
No Seminar – Happy CIHR Writing!  
No Seminar
Monday Mar 5, 2018
No Seminar – McGill Study Break and CIHR Grant Deadline 
Workshop
Mar 14-17, 2018
20th Annual Meakins-Christie International Workshop: Asthma and COPD 
In collaboration with the 2018 Gulf Thoracic Society,
InterContinental – Dubai Festival City, UAE
 
No Seminar
Monday Mar 19, 2018
No Seminar
Return from Asthma-COPD Workshop
 
Seminar
Monday Mar 26, 2018
Open Date  
No Seminar
Monday Apr 2, 2018
Easter  
Seminar
Monday Apr 9, 2018
Chris Sassetti   pubmed
Dept of Microbiology & Physiological
Systems, U of Mass Medical School
Systems Genetics of Tuberculosis
Seminar
Monday Apr 16, 2018
Qingling Duan  pubmed
Assistant Professor, Dept of Biomedical &
Molecular Sciences, Queen’s University
Missing heritability and strategies to identify underlying mechanisms of multifactorial, chronic respiratory diseases.
Special Seminar
Wed Apr 18, 2018
9:30 am
Maen Obeidat  pubmed link for Maen Obeidat
Assistant Professor, Division of Respiratory Medicine
University of British Columbia
Using Integrative Multi -Omics to Enable Precision Medicine in COPD
Seminar
Monday Apr 23, 2018
Meri Tulic  pubmed link for Meri Tulic
Professor, Inserm U1065, C3M: Centre Méditerranéen de
Médecine Moléculaire, 
Nice, France
Regulation of immune function in humans: from lungs to gut and now to the skin
Seminar
Monday Apr 30, 2018
Thomas Murphy pubmed
Professor Emeritus of Pediatrics, Harvard Medical School
On rethinking the role of airway smooth muscle mechanics in development and airway disease
Macklem Lecture
Wed May 9
, 2018
Ian Adcock publication link for Ian Adcock
Professor, Faculty of Medicine

Imperial College London
Mechanisms underlying severe asthma phenotypes
Room DS1.1427
Seminar
Monday May 14, 2018
Harry Karmouty-Quintana  pubmed link for Harry Karmouty-Quintana
Assistant Professor, The University of Texas
Hyaluronic acid in pulmonary hypertension
Room D03.6020
Special Seminar
Tuesday
May 15, 2018
Christopher Verschoor  pubmed link for Christopher Vershoor 
Assistant Professor, McMaster University
Health aging: How old are you really?… and how do your monocytes feel about it?
Room EM1.3509
No Seminar
Monday May 21, 2018
ATS Meeting
Research Day &
Christie Lecture

Monday May 28, 2018
29th Annual RI-MUHC Respiratory Research Day starting at 9am
Keynote: Christie Lecture by Dr. Manuel Cosio at 1pm
A life of research untangling the mechanisms of COPD. Did we get anywhere?
Cruess Amphitheatre ES1.1129 and RI-MUHC Auditorium
Wiselberg Seminar
Monday June 4, 2018
31st Doctor Dorothy Wiselberg Seminar: Asthma
Cruess Amphitheatre ES1.1129