Research Seminars 2011-2012

meakins logo: 2011-2012 pulmonary research seminar series
Weekly Research Seminar Series
Archive

Thanksgivingspeakertitle
Seminar
Mon Sept 19, 2011
Johannes Savolainen
University of Turku, Finland
Aspects of immunomodulation in atopic allergy
Seminar
Mon Sept 26, 2011
Audrey Poon
Postdoctoral fellow, MCL
The search for genetic risk factors for asthma (and related traits) – a candidate gene study approach
Seminar
Mon Oct 3, 2011
Joel Moss
Senior Investigator
National Heart Lung & Blood Inst
Lymphangioleiomyomatosis (LAM): Molecular Insights Lead to Targeted Therapies
Mon Oct 10, 2011No SeminarThanksgiving
Mon Oct 17, 2011No Seminar
Seminar
Mon Oct 24, 2011
Stephane Laporte
Assoc Prof, Dept of Medicine, McGill
Canada Res Chair Mol Endocrinol
Novel GPCR antagonists based on receptor allosterism and biased signaling
Seminar
Mon Oct 31, 2011
Sabah Hussain
Professor, Dept Medicine
McGill University
Novel biological roles for angiopoietins
Seminar
Mon Oct 31, 2011
Michael Laposata, Prof
Adam Seegmiller, Asst Prof
Dept Pathology, Vanderbilt Univ
Fatty acid abnormalities in cystic fibrosis
Seminar
Mon Nov 7, 2011
Stephanie Lehoux
Canada Res Chair in CV Physiol
Lady Davis Institute
Stress, strain and the atherosclerotic plaque
Christie Lecture
Mon Nov 21, 2011
Jason Bates
Professor of Medicine
University of Vermont
A physicist’s life in the lungs: the good, the bad, and the viscoelastic
Seminar
Mon Nov 28, 2011
Ryszard Grygorczyk
Professor, Dept Medicine
Université de Montréal
Hôtel-Dieu
Mechanosensitive nucleotide release from lung epithelial cells
Seminar
Mon Dec 5, 2011
Ernesto Schiffrin
Physician-in-Chief, JGH
Canada Res Chair in Hypertension
& Vascular Res, Lady Davis Institute
Hypertensive vascular disease and immune mechanisms
Seminar
Mon Dec 12, 2011
Erwin Schurr
Centre for Host Resistance
James McGill Professor
Dept Med, McGill University
Host genetic control of antimycobacterial immune responsiveness
Seminar
Mon Dec 19, 2011
Victor Laubach
Assoc Prof of Surgery
University of Virginia
Innate Immune Responses in Lung Ischemia-Reperfusion Injury
Happy Holidays and Happy New Year!
Seminar
Mon Jan 9, 2012
Imed Gallouzi
Assoc Prof, Dept Biochemistry
McGill University
Pateamine A, an Inhibitor of General Translation, Prevents Cachexia-Induced Muscle Wasting
Seminar
Mon Jan 16, 2012
Gerardo Ferbeyre
Assoc Prof, Dept Biochemistry
University of Montreal
ERK/MAPK inhibition facilitates malignant transformation by preventing senescence
Seminar
Tue Jan 24, 2012
Zhou Xing
Professor, Path & Mol Medicine
McMaster University
Immunity and vaccines against pulmonary tuberculosis: from bench to clinical trial
Seminar
Mon Jan 30, 2012
Javier Di Noia
Canada Res Chr Genetic Diversity
Clin Res Inst Montreal
Chaperoning antibody diversification
MCL Workshop
Mon Feb 6, 2012
Meakins Workshop
Seminar
Mon Feb 13, 2012
Jean-François Côté
Res Unit on Cytoskeleton Organization &
Cell Migration
Clin Res Inst Montreal
Signaling and biological functions of DOCK-family Rho guanine nucleotide exchange factors
Mon, Feb 20, 2012No SeminarPostponed
Mon Feb 27, 2012No SeminarPostponed
Seminar
Mon Mar 5, 2012
Stephen Michnick
CRC in Integrative Genomics
Professor, Dept Biochemistry
University of Montreal
The hidden impulses of an incredible shrinking cell
Seminar
Mon Mar 12, 2012
Jean-Philippe Gratton
Can Res Chair in Endothelial Cell Signalling &
Angiogenesis
Clin Res Inst Montreal
Nitric oxide and growth factor signaling at endothelial cell junctions
Seminar
Mon Mar 19, 2012
Matthew E Poynter
Assoc Prof, Dept Medicine
University of Vermont
The Influence of Airway Epithelial NF-kappaB Activity on Allergic Sensitization
Seminar
Mon Mar 26, 2012
Nikolaus Heveker
Dept Biochem, U Montreal
St. Justine Hospital
Chemokines and their receptors in cancer
Seminar
Mon Apr 2, 2012
Sylvia Vidal
Prof, Dept Human Genetics
McGill University
Genome-wide mouse ENU mutagenesis to identify new mechanisms of host response against pathogens
Mon Apr 9, 2012No SeminarEaster Monday
Seminar
Mon Apr 16, 2012
Nathalie Lamarch-Vane
Dept Anat Cell Biol
McGill University
Important roles for the CdGAP protein, a Rac1/Cdc42 GTPase regulator, in cancer cell migration and development
Mon Apr 23, 2012No SeminarPostponed
Seminar
Mon Apr 30, 2012
David Y Thomas
Chair, Dept of Biochemistry
McGill University
Correcting CFTR trafficking
Seminar
Mon May 7, 2012
Bruce Levy
Pulm & Critical Care Medicine
Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Harvard University
Specialized Pro-Resolving Mediators For Lung Inflammation and Injury
Seminar
Mon May 14, 2012
Maziar Divangahi
Asst Prof, Dept Med McGill
Meakins-Christie Labs
The role of macrophages in immunity to pulmonary infection
Mon May 21, 2012No SeminarATS Conference
Seminar
Mon May 28, 2012
Simon Rousseau
Asst Prof, Dept Med McGill
Meakins-Christie Labs
What can Mitogen-Activated Protein Kinases tell us about the involvement of CFTR in lung infections?
Seminar
Mon June 4, 2012
Paul Kubes
Prof, Physiology & Pharmacology,
University of Calgary
Imaging Intravascular Immunity
Seminar
Mon June 11, 2012
Ciriaco A Piccirillo
Assoc Prof, Dept micro/Immunol
Centre for Study of Host Resistance
McGill University
Stability of Foxp3+ regulatory T cell function in mice and humans
Seminar
Mon June 18, 2012
Anne-Marie Lauzon
Assoc Prof, Dept Med McGill
Meakins-Christie Labs
Smooth muscle molecular and strip mechanics in airway hyperresponsiveness