Research Seminars 2015-2016

NEW LOGO MEAKINS_square
Weekly Research Seminar Series
Archive

datexxxxxxxxxxxspeakertitle
Monday, Sept 7, 2015No SeminarLabor Day
Seminar
Monday, Sept 14, 2015
Mark Bazett
Haston Laboratory, McGill University and WELCOME TO THE MEAKINS
Airway mechanics, the intestinal microbiome and their interactions in cystic fibrosis mouse models
Seminar
Monday Sept 21, 2015
James Martin
Chair, Department of Medicine, Physician-in-Chief, MUHC, McGill University
The T cell and airway smooth muscle: implications for remodeling
Seminar
Monday, Sept 28, 2015
Matthias Friedrich
Professor of Medicine, McGill University, Department of Medicine & Diagnostic Radiology, Chief, Cardio Imaging, MUHC
What everybody should know about Magnetic Resonance Imaging of the Heart
Seminar
Monday, Oct 5, 2015
Bryan Yipp
Assistant Professor, Department of Critical Care Medicine, University of Calgary
Imaging Neutrophil Mediated Host Defense In vivo
Monday, Oct 12, 2015No SeminarThanksgiving
Seminar
Monday, Oct 19, 2015
Janusz Rak
Professor of Pediatrics, Department of Medicine Montreal Children’s Hospital, McGill University
Extracellular vesicles in cancer – opportunities and limits
Monday, Oct 26, 2015No SeminarAmerican College of Chest Physicians Meeting (Montreal)
Seminar
Monday Nov 2, 2015
Keith Walley Professor, Department of Medicine, Director, UBC James Hogg Research Centre University of British ColumbiaPathogen lipid clearance in sepsis and the role of PCSK9
Seminar
Monday Nov 9, 2015
Christine Cremo
Professor, Department of Biochem and Mol Bio Molecular Biosciences Graduate Program, University of Nevada
What limits the maximal speed of muscle contraction?
Seminar
Monday Nov 16, 2015
Morag Park
Professor, Department of Biochemistry, Director, Rosalind and Morris GCC, McGill University
Stromal heterogeneity in triple negative breast cancer
Macklem Lecture
Monday Nov 23, 2015
Jeffrey Fredberg
Professor, Bioengineering & Physiology, Department of Environmental Health, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health
Unjamming and cell shape in the asthmatic airway epithelium: Was Peter right yet again?
Seminar
Monday Nov 30, 2015
Emmanuelle Brochiero
Professor of Medicine, University of Montreal, Director, Lab on Lung Physiopathologies, Director, Respiratory Tissues Biobank
How to bypass the deleterious impact of infection on CF airways?
Seminar
Monday Dec 7, 2015
Woong-Kyung Suh
Assistant Professor of Medicine, University of Montreal, Director Immune Regulation Research Unit, Institut de Recherches Cliniques de Montréal
Role of the immune inhibitory B7 protein B7-H4 in anti-cancer T cell immunity
Seminar
Monday Dec 14, 2015
Ernesto Schiffrin
Professor, Department of Medicine, McGill University, Physician-in-Chief, Sir Mortimer B. Davis Jewish General Hospital
Immunity and novel systems biology approaches to study hypertension
Happy Holidays and Happy New Year!
Seminar
Monday Jan 11, 2016
Nicolas Flamand
Associate Professor Centre de recherche de l’IUCPQ, Université Laval Centre de recherche de l’IUCPQ Université Laval
Regulation of human eosinophil recruitment and activation in asthma and its severity
Seminar
Monday Jan 18, 2016
Francois Malouin
Professor Faculty of Science, Centre de recherche CEVDM, University of Sherbrooke
Staphylococcus aureus Small-Colony Variants: virulence and impact for the CF lung
Seminar
Monday Jan 25, 2016
Wolfgang Kuebler
Associate Professor, Departments of Surgery & Physiology, Keenan Research Centre, St Michael’s Hospital, University of Toronto
Novel regulators and therapeutic targets in acute lung injury and ARDS
Special Seminar Monday Feb 1, 2016 Raquel Farias
Supervisor: Simon Rousseau
Special PhD Seminar
IL-33, an Inflammatory Mediator in Cystic Fibrosis Lung Disease, Should We Be Alarmed?
Seminar
Monday Feb 8 2016
William Stanford
CRC Integrative Stem Cell Bio Ottawa Hospital Research Institute, Professor, University of Ottawa
Stem Cell approaches to model human disease and development
Monday Feb 15 2016 No SeminarMUHC Holiday
Christie Lecture Monday Feb 22, 2016 Peter Calverley
Professor of Respiratory Medicine, School of Aging and Chronic Disease, University of Liverpool
Back to the future of COPD: How the Meakins-Christie got it right.
Monday Feb 29, 2016 No SeminarMcGill Study Break
Seminar
Monday, Mar 7, 2016
Colin Funk
Professor, Department of Biomedical and Molecular Science, CRC Mol Cell and Physiological Medicine, Queen’s University
Arginase-1 Deficiency: A Rare Genetic Disorder Studied in Mouse and Man
Seminar
Monday, Mar 14, 2016
Daniel Barber
Chief, T Lymphocyte Biology Unit, National Institute of Allergy & Infectious Diseases, National Institutes of Health
Protective, non-protective and pathogenic CD4 T cell responses in Mycobacterium tuberculosis infection
Seminar
Monday, Mar 21, 2016
Mikael Adner
Senior Research, Institution for Environmental Medicine, Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm, Sweden
To explore mast cell-induced contractions and airway hyperreactivity in human small airways
Monday, Mar 28, 2016 No Seminar Easter Monday
Seminar
Monday, Apr 4, 2016
Alice Prince
Professor of Pediatrics, Infectious Diseases in Pharmacology, Columbia University
Macrophage signaling in acute bacterial pneumonia
Sex, Steroids, and The Lung: Implications for Airway Disease
Seminar
Monday, Apr 11, 2016
YS Prakash
Professor of Anesthesiology, Physiology, Department of Anesthesiology, Biomed Eng Mayo Clinic
Sex, Steroids, and The Lung: Implications for Airway Disease
Seminar
Monday, Apr 18, 2016
Andrew Snow
Assistant Professor, Department of Pharmacology, Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences
BENTA Disease: Molecular & Cellular Consequences of Dysregulated CARD11 Signaling
Monday, Apr 25, 2016 No Seminar
Monday, May 2, 2016 No Seminar
Seminar
Monday, May 9, 2016
Lorenzo Ferri
Associate Professor, Department of Medicine, Surgery and Oncology, McGill University
Postponed until October 31, 2016
Monday, May 16, 2016 No Seminar ATS Conference (San Francisco)
Monday, May 23, 2016 No Seminar National Patriots’ Day
Seminar
Monday, May 30, 2016
Frank McCormack
Professor of Medicine, Department of Internal Medicine, Division Director, Critical Care & Sleep, University of Cincinnati
Progress in Rare Lung Diseases
Seminar
Thursday, July 7, 2016
Stefan Matecki
Professor, Unité d’exploration foctionnelle pédiatrique, Université Montpellier
Early events involved in diaphragm dysfunction induced by mechanical ventilation