Research Seminars 2016-2017

meakins christie laboratories logo

Weekly Research Seminar Series
Time: Mondays, 4:00 pm – 5:00 pm
Room: EM1.3509 unless otherwise advertised

Date

Speaker

Title


Seminar
Monday Aug 15, 2016

Joel Moss
Senior Investigator, Laboratory of Translational Research, NIH National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute

Translational Insights in LAM and Biomarker Development


Special Seminar
Monday Aug 29, 2016

Michael O’Sullivan
Final PhD Seminar
James Martin Lab

Airway Epithelial Coordination of Inflammation and Smooth
Muscle Phenotype


No Seminar
Monday Sept 5, 2016

Labor Day


Seminar
Monday Sept 12, 2016

Hardy Kornfeld
Professor of Medicine
University of Massachusetts Medical School

Diabetic Immunopathy and Tuberculosis
POSTPONED


Seminar
Monday Sept 19, 2016

No Seminar


Seminar
Monday Sept 26, 2016

Jörg Fritz
Associate Professor, McGill University, Dept of Micro & Immuno, Scientist, CTG

Regulation of Group 2 Innate Lymphoid Cells


Seminar
Monday Oct 3, 2016

Jonathan McCullers
Professor and Chair, Department of Pediatrics, Le Bonheur Children’s Hospital, U of Tennessee Health Science Centre

Influenza: Understanding the Pathogenesis of Secondary Bacterial Infections to Improve Outcomes


No Seminar
Monday Oct 10, 2016

Thanksgiving


Seminar
Monday Oct 17, 2016

No Seminar
Happy CIHR Writing!


No Seminar
Monday Oct 24, 2016

American College of Chest Physicians Meeting


Seminar
Monday Oct 31, 2016

Lorenzo Ferri
Professor, Department of Surgery and
Oncology, McGill University

Dissecting the role of neutrophils in the metastatic process


Seminar
Monday Nov 7, 2016

Anna Naumova
Associate Professor, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology and Human Genetics, McGill University

Childhood asthma and chromosomal region 17q12-q21: from GWAS to biological mechanisms


MCL Workshop
Monday Nov 14, 2016
Pulmonary Monocyte Macrophage Biology Symposium


Seminar
Monday Nov 21, 2016

Nathalie Lamarche-Vane
Prof, Dept of Anatomy & Cell Bio, McGill University
Cancer Research Program, RI-MUHC

Positive roles for a negative regulator of Rho GTPases in development and cancer


Macklem Lecture
Tuesday Nov 29, 2016

Thomas Similowski
Service de Pneumologie & Reanimation Medicale
Groupe Hospitalier Pitie-Salpetriere Charles Foix, France

Peter T. Macklem: stimulating from the Phrenic To the Mind


Seminar
Monday Dec 5, 2016

Esther Barreiro Portela
Department of Respiratory Medicine
Institute of Medical Research of Hospital del Mar, Spain


Seminar
Monday Dec 12, 2016

Joel Ernst
Professor, Dept of Med, Path, Microbio; Director, Div of Infect Dis & Immuno, NYU School of Med

Why is it hard to make an effective TB vaccine?


Happy Holidays and Happy New Year!


Seminar
Monday Jan 16, 2017

Benoît Allard
Postdoctoral Fellow, James Martin Laboratory
Meakins-Christie Laboratories, McGill University

Final Seminar: Tolerogenic alveolar macrophages mediate adaptation to lung injury
CANCELLED


Seminar
Monday Jan 23, 2017

Francois Maltais
Professeur, Institut universitaire de cardiologie et de pneumologie de Québec, Université Laval

COPD and the limb muscles


Seminar
Monday Jan 30, 2017

Irah King
Assistant Professor, McGill University, Dept of Micro
& Immun, Microbiome & Disease Tolerance Ctr

Mechanisms of disease tolerance during intestinal helminth infection


Seminar
Monday Feb 6, 2017

John Hanrahan
Professor, Dept of Physiology, McGill University, Cystic Fibrosis Canada Researcher

CFTR regulation by tobacco smoke and secretagogues


No Seminar
Monday Feb 13, 2017

MUHC Holiday 


Seminar
Monday Feb 20, 2017

Jean-Francois Côté 
Associate Professor, Institut de recherches clinques de Montréal (IRCM), Université de Montréal

Receptor Tyrosine Kinase and Rho GTPase signaling networks in metastatic progression


No Seminar
Monday Feb 27, 2017

McGill Study Break


No Seminar
Monday Mar 6, 2017

No Seminar


Seminar
Monday Mar 13, 2017

Neil Schluger
Prof of Med, Epid & Env Health Sci; Chief, Div of Pulm, Allergy & Crit Care, Columbia Uni Medical Ctr

Clinical Trials in Tuberculosis: Making TB Treatment Better


Seminar
Monday Mar 20, 2017

Frédéric Sériès
Professeur titulaire département de Médecine
Université Laval, Inst Univ Cardio et Pneum du Québec

Magnetic stimulation as a tool to investigate upper airway neuromechanical features in vivo


Seminar
Monday Mar 27, 2017

Benoît Allard
Postdoctoral Fellow, James Martin Laboratory, Meakins-Christie Laboratories, McGill University

Final PDF Seminar: Tolerogenic alveolar macrophages mediate
adaptation to lung injury


CF Research Day Seminar
Monday Apr 3, 2017
Cystic Fibrosis Research Day in collaboration with the CFTRc


Seminar
Monday Apr 10, 2017

Hardy Kornfeld
Professor of Medicine
University of Massachusetts Medical School

Diabetic Immunopathy and Tuberculosis


No Seminar
Monday Apr 17, 2017

Easter


Seminar
Monday Apr 24, 2017

Bradley Quon
Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine, Centre for Heart Lung Innovation, UBC

Blood-based biomarkers to improve pulmonary exacerbation outcomes in cystic fibrosis
In collaboration with the McGill CFTRc. Supported by Vertex


Seminar
Monday May 1, 2017

Stéphane Angers
Assoc Prof, Faculty of Pharmacy, Canada Research Chair, University of Toronto

Leveraging genome-wide CRISPR screens and synthetic lethal interactions for novel cancer therapeutics


Seminar
Monday May 8, 2017

Siddharth Balachandran
Associate Professor, Blood Cell Dev and Function Program, Fox Chase Cancer Ctr

Mechanisms of Influenza Virus-Activated Cell Death


Seminar
Monday May 15, 2017

Ira Tabas
Professor of Pathology & Cell Biology Department of Medicine, Columbia University

Defective Inflammation Resolution in Atherosclerosis: Mechanisms and Therapeutic Opportunities


No Seminar
Monday May 22, 2017

ATS Meeting


Seminar
Monday May 29, 2017

Roland Friedel
Assistant Professor, Neuroscience, Icahn School of Medicine, Mount Sinai, New York

Plexin-B function in tissue morphogenesis during neuro-development and cancer