Research Seminars 2017-2018

meakins christie laboratories logo

Weekly Research Seminar Series
Archive

DATEXXXXSPEAKERTITLE
Seminar
Wed Aug 16, 2017
Donna Savigni
School of Human Sciences
University of Western Australia
Airway Smooth Muscle in Development and Dysfunction
Monday Sept 4, 2017 No SeminarLabor Day
Seminar
Monday Sept 11, 2017
Dongsheng Duan
Margaret Proctor Mulligan Professor in
Medical Research

University of Missouri
AAV therapy for Duchenne muscular dystrophy by gene replacement and gene editing
Seminar
Monday Sept 18, 2017
Miguel Soares
Principal Investigator
Instituto Gulbenkian de Ciência
Portugal
Metabolic adaptation and disease tolerance to infection
Seminar
Monday Sept 25, 2017
Slava Epelman
Assistant Professor of Medicine
University of Toronto
Origin and function of cardiac Dendridic Cells during viral myocarditis
Seminar
Monday Oct 2, 2017
Stephen Girardin
Associate Professor
Laboratory Medicine & Pathobiology
University of Toronto
A cytosolic unfolded protein response controls innate immune signaling
Monday Oct 9, 2017 No SeminarHappy Thanksgiving
Special Seminar
Tuesday Oct 10, 2017
Kian Fan Chung
Professor of Medicine
National Heart & Lung Institute
Imperial College London
What have we learned from the UBIOPRED?
In collaboration with AstraZeneca
Seminar
Monday Oct 16, 2017
Christopher Rudd
Professor of Medicine
Dept of Medicine and Microbiology,
Infection and Immunology
University of Montreal
Novel adaptive T-cell signaling pathways in inflammation and cancer
Seminar
Monday Oct 23, 2017
Gregory Downey
Professor, Department of Medicine
Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care
and Sleep Medicine
National Jewish Health
Tyrosine Phosphatase Control of Pulmonary Fibrosis: pY and pY not?
MCL Workshop
Monday Oct 30, 2017
19th Annual Meakins-Christie International Workshop:
Systems biology approaches to pulmonary host-pathogen interactions
Seymour Heisler Memorial Lecture: Dr. David Guttman – Pathogen evolution within the cystic fibrosis lung
Seminar
Monday Nov 6, 2017
Samuel David
Professor, Dept of Neurology &
Neuroscience, Dept Medicine

McGill University
Iron homeostasis in the nervous system in health and disease
Seminar
Monday Nov 13, 2017
Eric Thorin
Professor, Dept of Surgery
University of Montreal
Pulse pressure and cerebrovascular aging
Seminar
Monday Nov 20, 2017
Jeff Xia
Assistant Professor
McGill University
Computational platforms for understanding metabolites, microRNAs and microbiome
Special Seminar
Monday Nov 27, 2017
Alice Panariti
Postdoctoral Fellow with
Dr. James Martin
Final PDF Seminar
Airway Remodeling in Severe Asthma
Seminar
Monday Dec 4, 2017
David Brooks
Associate Professor
University Health Network
University of Toronto
Inflammation and immunosuppression in chronic virus infection and co-infection
Seminar
Monday Dec 11, 2017
Mihai Netea
Dept of Internal Medicine
Radbound University Medical Center, Netherlands
Trained immunity: a memory for innate host defense
Special Seminar
Monday Dec 18, 2017
Maurizio Chioccioli
Bio & Soft Systems
University of Cambridge
Ciliary motion and collective hydrodynamic synchronisation: from physical properties to medical applications
Happy Holidays and Happy New Year!
Seminar
Monday Jan 22, 2018
Gerald Supinski
Professor
University of Kentucky
Postponed
Seminar
Monday Jan 29, 2018
Jeremy Hirota
Assistant Professor
Department of Medicine
McMaster University
A journey into the unknown – Learning my ABCs of mucosal immunology
Seminar
Monday Feb 5, 2018
Harry Karmouty-Quintana
Assistant Professor
The University of Texas
Hyaluronic acid in pulmonary hypertenstion
Postponed until May
Monday Mar 5, 2018No SeminarMcGill Study Break
MCL Workshop
Mar 14-17, 2018
20th Annual Meakins-Christie International Workshop: Asthma and COPD
In collaboration with the 2018 Gulf Thoracic Society, InterContinental – Dubai Festival City, UAE
Monday Mar 19, 2018 No SeminarReturn from workshop
Seminar
Monday Mar 26, 2018
Open Date
Monday Apr 2, 2018No SeminarEaster Holiday
Seminar
Monday Apr 9, 2018
Chris Sassetti
Dept of Microbiology & Physiological Systems
University of Mass Medical School
Systems Genetics of Tuberculosis
Seminar
Monday Apr 16, 2018
Qingling Duan
Assistant Professor
Department of Biomedical and
Molecular Sciences
Queen’s University
Missing heritability and strategies to identify underlying mechanisms of multifactorial, chronic respiratory diseases
Seminar
Wednesday Apr 18, 2018
Maen Obeidat
Assistant Professor, Division of
Respiratory Medicine
University of British Columbia
Using Integrative Multi -Omics to Enable Precision Medicine in COPD
Seminar
Monday Apr 23, 2018
Meri Tulic
Professor, Inserm U1065
C3M: Centre Méditerranéen
de Médecine Moléculaire
Nice, France
Regulation of immune function in humans: from lungs to gut and now to the skin
Seminar
Monday Apr 30, 2018
Thomas Murphy
Professor Emeritus of Pediatrics
Harvard Medical School
On rethinking the role of airway smooth muscle mechanics in development and airway disease
Seminar
Wednesday May 9, 2018
Ian Adcock
Professor, Faculty of Medicine
Imperial College London
Macklem Lecture
Mechanisms underlying severe asthma phenotypes
Seminar
Monday May 14, 2018
Harry Karmouty-Quintana
Assistant Professor
The University of Texas
Hyaluronic acid in pulmonary hypertension
Seminar
Tuesday May 15, 2018
Christopher Verschoor
Assistant Professor
McMaster University
Health aging: How old are you really?… and how do your monocytes feel about it?
Monday May 21, 2018No SeminarATS Conference, San Diego, CA
Research Day
Monday May 28, 2018

RESP Research Day & Christie Lecture
29th Annual RI-MUHC Respiratory Research Day Keynote: Christie Lecture by Dr. Manuel Cosio
A life of research untangling the mechanisms of COPD. Did we get anywhere?
Wiselberg
Monday June 4, 2018
Wiselberg Seminar31st Doctor Dorothy Wiselberg Seminar: Asthma