Research Seminars 2019-2020

meakins logo: pulmonary research seminar series 2018-2019
Weekly Research Seminar Series 2019-2020
Time: Mondays, 9:00 am – 10:00 am
Room: ES1.1129 RI-MUHC Cruess Amphitheatre (unless otherwise advertised)

DateSpeakerTitle
Seminar
Wed July 10, 2019
Mustapha Si-Tahar
Directeur, Inserm U1100, Centre d’Etude des Pathologies
Respiratoires (CEPR), Faculté de Médecine, Tours, France
Towards a metabolic anti-influenza therapy
Seminar
Thur Sept 12, 2019

Nicola Alexander Hanania
Associate Professor Medicine-Pulmonary
Baylor College of Medicine
Clearing the air in severe asthma:
conversations on tailored therapies and real-world experience
Seminar
Monday Sept 23, 2019
Joseph Shrager
Professor of Cardiothoracic Surgery
Stanford University Medical Centre
Ventilator-induced Diaphragm Dysfunction:
From Theory to Clinical Trials
Seminar
Monday Sept 30, 2019
No SeminarERS 2019 – Sept 28- Oct 2
Seminar
Monday Oct 7, 2019
Katherine Yudeh King
Associate Professor, Pediatrics-Infectious Diseases,
Baylor College of Medicine
Hematopoietic Stem Cell Responses to Infection
No Seminar
Monday Oct 14, 2019
Happy Thanksgiving
Seminar
Thursday Oct 24, 2019
Nicholas Gregory Jendzjowsky
Alberta Children’s Hospital Research Institute
University of Calgary
TRPing over the carotid bodies in asthma
Seminar
Monday Oct 28, 2019
Chun Seow
Professor, Department of Pathology & Laboratory
Medicine, University of British Columbia
To latch or not to latch:
On the basic contraction mechanism in smooth muscle
Seminar
Monday Nov 4, 2019
Mark Siracusa
Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine
Rutgers New Jersey Medical School
Regulation of Immunity and Inflammation at Mucosal Sites
Seminar
Monday Nov 11, 2019
Zhen Yan
Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine
University of Virginia
mitoAMPK in exercise-induced mitophagy and functional
adaptations: Cash for clunkers
Seminar
Thursday Nov 21, 2019

Cameron Stuart McAlpine
Instructor in Radiology, Massachusetts General
Hospital, Harvard University
Sleep modulates hematopoiesis and protects
against atherosclerosis
Seminar
Monday Nov 25, 2019
Amin Emad
Assistant Professor, Department of Electrical and
Computer Engineering, McGill University
Machine Learning on Biological Networks and its Application
in Medicine
Seminar
Monday Dec 2, 2019
Jun Ding
Computational Biology Department
Carnegie Mellon University
Analysis and modeling of single-cell genomics data to
drive biomedical discovery and innovation

POSTPONED – DATE TBC
Seminar
Monday Dec 9, 2019

Open date
Seminar
Monday Dec 16, 2019
Open date
Happy Holidays and Happy New Year!
Seminar
Monday Jan 13, 2020
Open date
Seminar
Monday Jan 20, 2020
Sébastien Talbot
Assistant Professor
Université de Montréal
To be announced
Seminar
Monday Jan 27, 2020
Dawn Bowdish
Associate Professor, Pathology & Molecular Medicine,
McMaster University
To be announced
Seminar
Monday Feb 3, 2020
Christina Pabelick
Professor of Anesthesiology & Physiology
Mayo Clinic

To be announced
Seminar
Wednesday

Feb 5, 2020
Jun Ding
Computational Biology Department
Carnegie Mellon University
Analysis and modeling of single-cell genomics data to
drive biomedical discovery and innovation
No Seminar
Monday Feb 10, 2020
MUHC Holiday
Seminar
Monday Feb 17, 2020
Date Reserved
Seminar
Monday Feb 24, 2020
Antoine-Emmanuel Saliba
Group leader, Single-Cell Analysis
Helmholtz Institute for RNA-based infection research (HIRI)
Single-cell RNA-seq reveals the complexity and heterogeneity
of infection processes
No Seminar
Monday Mar 2, 2020
McGill Spring Break
Seminar
Monday Mar 9, 2020
Stephane Lajoie
Assistant Professor of Otolaryngology –
Head and Neck Surgery, Johns Hopkins Medicine
To be announced
Seminar
Monday Mar 16, 2020
Subash Sad
Professor, Department of Biochemistry, Microbiology and Immunology
University of Ottawa
FoxO3 and the Gut
Seminar
Monday Mar 23, 2020
Heidi McBride
Professor, Department of Neurology
and Neurosurgery, McGill University
To be announced
Meakins Workshop
Sunday Mar 28, 2020
22nd Meakins-Christie Laboratories Workshop
Lipid Biology in Respiratory Diseases

Christie Lecture: Dr. William Powell
Seminar
Monday Mar 30, 2020
Dragana Jankovic
Senior Associate Scientist, Immunoparasitology Unit
NIAID, NIH
To be announced
Seminar
Monday Apr 6, 2020
Cory Hogaboam
Professor, Department of Medicine
Cedars Sinai Medical Center

To be announced
No Seminar
Monday Apr 13, 2020
Easter
Seminar
Monday Apr 20, 2020
Julie Magarian Blander
Professor of Immunology
Cornell University
To be announced
Room D03.6020 booked
Seminar
Monday Apr 27, 2020
Reynold Panettieri
Professor of Medicine, Science Director,
Rutgers Institute for Translational Medicine
To be announced
Seminar
Monday May 4, 2020
Kevin Urdahl
Professor, Center for Global Infectious Disease Research
University of Washington
T cell responses in the TB granuloma
Seminar
Monday May 11, 2020
No Seminar
Monday May 18, 2020
ATS Conference, Philadelphia, PA May 15-20, 2020
Seminar
Monday May 25, 2020
Claudia Jakubzick
Associate Professor, Dartmouth College
To be announced
RESP Research Day & Macklem Lecture
Date TBC
Wiselberg
Friday, June 5, 2020
Wiselberg Seminar