Work-in-Progress

2020-2021 Schedule – Mondays 9am-10am by zoom
A weekly work-in-progress provides trainees with the opportunity to present their research results, develop communication skills, and receive feedback from colleagues.

DATEPRESENTERPOSITIONSUPERVISORTITLE
Tuesday September 8, 2020Orientation for new staff and trainees
Monday September 21, 2020Felipe BroeringGrad MScSabah HussainMYTHO: An uncharacterized FoxO-dependent gene
that controls autophagy and skeletal muscle mass
Monday September 28, 2020NO SEMINAR
Monday October 5, 2020Danielle AtarPost DocIrah KingType 2 Immunity Versus Helminths: Tales From the Crypt
Monday October 12, 2020NO WIP – THANSKGIVING
Monday October 19, 2020 Fangyi ShiGrad MScCarolyn BagloleRegulation of the Akt pathway by AhR in mouse lung fibroblasts
Monday October 26, 2020MEAKINS SEMINAR
Monday November 2, 2020Hussein TraboulsiPost DocCarolyn Baglole / Ben SmithAhR: a Beauty and a Beast in two lung diseases
Monday November 9, 2020Kosuke MakitaPost DocJames MartinThe role of EGFR in airway dysfunction and epithelial regeneration in mice following chlorine exposure
Monday November 16, 2020Vanessa MoarbesGrad PhDElizabeth FixmanInhibitory activity of STAT6-IP on IL-33-mediated-IL-13 production, and Type 2 inflammation in an innate murine allergy model.
Monday November 23, 2020Hualin ZhangGrad PhDIrah KingInvestigating the role of CD109 in regulating the cutaneous IL-1α/IL-17 immune axis.
Monday November 30, 2020MEAKINS SEMINAR
Monday December 7, 2020Nargis KhanPost DocMaziar DivangahiProtective mechanisms of trained immunity against pulmonary infections
Monday December 14, 2020Qian LiGrad PhDBasil PetrofMacrophage origins, dynamics and functions in the mouse diaphragm
NO WIP – HAPPY HOLIDAYS
Monday January 11, 2021Arash RadGrad MScStewart GottfriedOscillometry to Assess Respiratory Function in Rare Lung Disease and Other Scenarios
Monday January 18, 2021Fatima HubaishiGrad MScElizabeth FixmanA Novel Approach of Treatment: Topical Application of an Immunomodulatory Peptide in a Murine Model of Epicutaneously-induced Allergic Inflammation.
Monday January 25, 2021MEAKINS SEMINAR
Monday February 1, 2021Camille Audousset Post DocJames MartinFunctional impact of airways mucus plugging in a Canadian population of asthmatics.
Monday February 8, 2021 NO WIP – RI-MUHC STAT DAY
Monday February 15, 2021Gabriel RussellGrad MScIrah KingA novel pathway of helminth expulsion curtailed by the transcriptional repressor Bcl-6.
Monday February 22, 2021MEAKINS SEMINAR
Monday March 1, 2021NO WIP – SPRING BREAK!
Monday March 8, 2021Rami KarkoutGrad MScElizabeth FixmanSex-dependent differences in eosinophil recruitment and activation in an innate Type 2 inflammation model in the lung.
Monday March 15, 2021Matthew PreterotiGrad MScCarolyn BagloleInvestigating Receptor-Mediated Effects of Select Cannabinoids on the Innate Inflammatory Response.
Monday March 22, 2021Mina SadeghiGrad MScMaziar DivangahiRegulation of bone marrow iron metabolism in hematopoiesis and host defence against TB.
Monday March 29, 2021Shabnam Abbaszadeh AhranjaniGrad MScJean Bourbeau / Dao NguyenIn vitro and in vivo anti-inflammatory effect of macrolides in Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD).
Monday April 5, 2021NO WIP – EASTER
Monday April 12, 2021Karim MaletPost DocDao NguyenIntracellular survival of Pseudomonas aeruginosa in airway epithelial cells.
Monday April 19, 2021Dora XiongGrad MScAnne-Marie LauzonEffects of Alarmins on Airway Smooth Muscle Function.
Monday April 26, 2021MEAKINS SEMINAR
Monday May 3, 2021Bavanitha ThurairajahGrad MScIrah KingRole of Prostaglandin E2 in Maintaining Intestinal Homeostasis.
Monday May 10, 2021Aurélie Tréfier (Trindade)Post DocArnold Kristof
Monday May 17, 2021ATS Meeting May 14-19
Monday May 24, 2021NO WIP – VICTORIA DAY
Monday May 31, 2021MEAKINS SEMINAR
Monday June 7, 2021Pranjal SethGrad MScAnne-Marie LauzonHold and Drop: Microfluidic methods for investigating Airway Smooth Muscle Cell Mechanics.
Monday June 14, 2021Noelia Azalde GarciaGrad MScElizabeth FixmanThe Role of Invariant Natural Killer T Cells (INKT) in Alternaria-Induced Type 2 Innate Lung Inflammation in a Murine Model.
Monday June 21, 2021NO WIP – ANNUAL MEAKINS-CHRISTIE WORKSHOP
Monday June 28, 2021Shao TaoGrad PhDBruce MazerCANCELLED.